Deutsche Atlantische Gesellschaft e.V.

»Dr. Karl A. Lamers Peace-Prize« Essaywettbewerb 2022

The Dr. Karl A. Lamers Peace-Foundation, founded in December 2018, seeks to encourage young people to think about the great importance of peace and freedom. The future of peace and freedom requires strong dedication and engagement from the younger generation. Both values have decisively shaped the life and work of Prof. h. c. Dr. Karl A. Lamers as a long-time politician. Since 1998, he has been an active member of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly (NATO PA) and served as its President from 2010 to 2012 as well as Vice-President from 2006 to 2008, 2012 to 2014 and in 2020. In October 2021, Prof. h. c. Dr. Lamers has been appointed as Honorary Consul of the Republic of Estonia.

The Dr. Karl A. Lamers Peace-Foundation invites students to submit their essays for the prize awarded in cooperation with the NATO PA. The topic for the 2022 competition is as follows:

What are two key lessons learned for NATO from Russia’s invasion of Ukraine?

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has opened the gravest security crisis in Europe since World War II and will have a profound and lasting impact for European and indeed global security. NATO has responded by condemning Russia’s actions, providing political and practical support to Ukraine and strengthening its deterrence and defence posture in the Eastern part of the Alliance. Eligibility:

We encourage students to submit essays on the topic. Participants must be aged between 20–30 and citizens of one of the NATO member states. Please note that only students with a valid student ID are eligible to enter this competition.

How to submit:

Please submit your essay (max. 2,000 words) by email to no later than 10 September 2022. Essays must be in English. Only one essay per participant. Please provide your full name, contact details and a copy of your student ID.


A Selection Panel under the lead of NATO PA Secretary General Ruxandra Popa of former Presidents, former Secretary Generals and other former Members of the NATO PA will select together with Prof. h. c. Dr. Karl A. Lamers the three winning essays.

Winner essays:

The three winners of the Dr. Karl A. Lamers Peace-Prize will be announced in autumn and receive 1,000 € for first prize, 600 € for second prize and 400 € for third prize.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie von:

Elisabet Tsirkinidou M.A.

Büroleitung · Referentin
Dorotheenstraße 84 · 10117 Berlin
030 20649-134
030 20649-136

Michael Simon

Büroleitung · Referent
Wenzelgasse 42 · 53111 Bonn
0228 – 62 50 31
0228 – 61 66 04
Bildnachweise für diese Seite
Foto ET 2023_1 Leo Simon
Michael Simon Leonhard Simon
DAG-EU-2024-1 Michael K. Urban
RL01127_1815 Robert Lehmann
Für Abbildungen, die hier nicht gelistet sind, ist kein Urheber-Nachweis notwendig, oder wir selbst sind der Urheber.